RSS Feed

Hotdog Dujour

Hot dog? Hot dog?

That’s the refrain I hear every day, although when Connor says it, hot dog sounds more like “hawk gog”.

And while I appreciate and occasionally enjoy one of America’s greatest contributions to food and baseball, I worry that my boy takes his patriotism a step too far.

Certainly there are other foods preschoolers enjoy, if only Connor would eat them! We regularly cycle through chicken nuggets, cheese pizza, quesadillas, grilled cheese, and once in a blue moon, that other American delight, the hamburger.

French fries, goldfish crackers, peanut butter and crackers all make appearances along with that healthy list of “entrees” above. If I’m very lucky he’ll eat applesauce or banana slices along with his serving of carbohydrates and processed meat.

Unfortunately for Connor none of those meals travel very well in a lunch box. the idea of eating a cold, uncooked hotdog for lunch is pretty revolting.

So he gets the one lunch item that can be served room temperature, and that graces millions of lunch boxes, the almighty peanut butter sandwich! And I don’t want to brag or anything, but I make a mean pb&j. Sometimes I even switch out the jam for honey! Shocking, I know, but true all the same.

And while I’m sure Connor loves having the same lunch everyday (Because really, who doesn’t?), perhaps I should switch it up some. But what to substitute, that is the question!

Toddlers, preschoolers and autistic children all share one thing in common: they are notoriously picky eaters! My doctor told of an autistic patient who ate virtually nothing aside from French fries! This child had grown in to a tall healthy young man despite his limited nutrient supply, but I’m not confident the same will be true for my child.

I do my best giving him vitamins and sneaking fruit or vegetables into baked goods. I vary his juices, I make sure the foods he will eat are primarily whole grain, organic, kosher, low sugar, etc., whatever I can do to limit the bad quality of those highly un-nutritious foods.

I guess my point today is this: help me. Help me please! Send me your recipes or your tips. Share your stories of pick eaters. Please reassure me that he’ll grow out of this.

Man surely cannot live by hotdog alone.

About mrserinanderson

I wear many different hats in my life: mom, daughter, friend, laundress, dog lover/walker, nanny, personal assistant, cook....I could go on, but if you're a modern housewife, you already know what I do and you know I technically don't get paid for any of it! But I'll gladly take sloppy doggy kisses, baby face pats, and the occasional bunch of flowers as payment.Erin AndersonCreate Your Badge

4 responses »

  1. I don’t know if these veggies will be “disguised” enough, but a company named Veggie Patch makes broccoli bites and spinach nuggets that look just like chicken nuggets. They’re breaded and in a nugget shape, but they’re filled with either potato and broccoli or spinach and cheese. You can find them in the produce section, where the salad mixes and prepackaged veggies are. My toddler can’t get enough of them. Good luck!

    Reply
    • mrserinanderson

      At this point, it’s worth a shot. I’ve tried the old bait and switch with fish sticks to moderate success. I’ll give these veggie patties a try! Thanks for the tip!

      Reply
  2. It’s only a little extra fruit, but my mom used to make us peanut butter, honey, and banana sandwiches. She called them “Winnie the Pooh” sandwiches 🙂 The other healthier but fun foods I remember were “ants on a log”-celery filled with peanut butter with raisins on top (not sure those would travel well either, maybe if wrapped?) and the apple riddle-what “house” has no windows, no doors, a chimney on top (stem) and a star inside? The last bit is because if you cut an apple in half the seeds make a star shape, though that would be lost with slices 😦 Also, this is not a lunch idea, but if you want to add veggies and he likes mashed potatoes, mashed cauliflower is a pretty good facsimile. You can also add part or all of a potato to help make it more like the real thing.

    Reply
    • mrserinanderson

      Those are great ideas! Thank you for sharing. I remember my mom doing similar things with my food. I’ll let you know how Connor likes them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

