RSS Feed

Hot pants

I am not one for diets.  I did a medically supervised diet in my early 20s to lose all the weight I’d put on in college.  It was extreme and expensive.  I had to check in daily, get shots, exercise for a regimented amount of time, and follow a carefully calibrated food program.  It was very successful.  Over the course of four months I lost 45 lbs.  That was awesome!

And I have no desire to do that again.  I’m not even sure if I could do that again.  Back then I was single, working part time, going to graduate school and had a fully flexible schedule.  Those things are not so true now.

Plus, honestly, I don’t really want to do some extreme diet.  I don’t.  I love food too much! I love cooking.  I love taking Connor to go get treats when he’s had a good day at school.

I’ve learned how to eat moderately and keep my weight around the same level, most days (obviously there are some splurge days and followed by guilt/compensation days).

The problem arose when I started dating my now boyfriend.  I’ve gained 7 lbs since we started dating! 7lbs! It’s not hard to see why.  We go out on dates.  Dates often revolve around food.  And for us, that means good food since we’re both foodies.

I remember reading something along the lines of most people gain weight when they enter a committed relationships, so I set out to find a couple of articles.  Here’s what I came up with:

According to an Ohio State study, women gain weight after marriage and men gain after divorce.

A British study found that weight gain and loss can actually be tracked via milestones in a couple’s relationship:

Early Courtship: loss of 5.3lbs

Becoming Comfortable: gain of 10lbs

Wedding Preparedness: loss of 8lbs

Baby Boom: gain of 14lbs

Late life reinvention: loss of 10lbs

So according to the British I’ve jumped the honeymoon stage and gone straight for the comfort stage.  Sigh.

I wasn’t really too worried about this except for one key problem:

 

These pants were hanging in my closet, just begging to be worn.  They are amazing.  They are beautiful.  They are so perfect for this summer.

I bought them on sale at Nordstrom a few months ago with some of my saved Christmas gift cards.  I love them so very much I can hardly stand it.

So when I couldn’t fit into them without a horrible muffin top I almost cried.

I knew I had to do something.  Some crazy diet was out of the question.  I needed something easy.  And so all I did was limit my sweets to once a day, ate only when I was actually hungry, and made certain I was drinking at least 80 oz of water a day.

Voila! Three weeks later I’m down 4 lbs and into my beautiful pink pants.  Granted I don’t quite look like the model in the picture, but at least they fit!

Yes, I am wearing a slightly blousey top to hide that the waist is a little bit tight, but hey, they’re still hot pants!

About mrserinanderson

I wear many different hats in my life: mom, daughter, friend, laundress, dog lover/walker, nanny, personal assistant, cook....I could go on, but if you're a modern housewife, you already know what I do and you know I technically don't get paid for any of it! But I'll gladly take sloppy doggy kisses, baby face pats, and the occasional bunch of flowers as payment.Erin AndersonCreate Your Badge

4 responses »

  1. adorable!! this is really encouraging. thanks. i like your blog. i hope you’ll check mine out as well 🙂

    Reply
  2. Erin, you look great! Those pants are super cute. I love your blog. Keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

