RSS Feed

She’s crafty

I craft.  I may not be Martha Stewart, but I do craft.  In fact, I think if Martha came over she’d be horrified by the state of my crafts.  Like everything else I do, I enjoy doing things the easy way.

Yes, I could spend hours making things perfect.  Yes, my crafts would probably look better if I did.  But then I would never get anything done.

Part of the reason I do take the easy road with crafts and cooking is because I get interrupted every 28.6 seconds.  It’s not easy to use an Exacto knife with a crazy preschooler running around either.  So I adjust.  I do things quick and easy because at least they get done this way.

For example:

I made this sign for the Aides and Tutors Appreciation Week lunch today at Connor’s school.  I had approximately 20 minutes to get this done yesterday afternoon.

I would like to blame….I mean credit Connor for helping me with this, but sadly I cannot.  No folks, this is 100% adult made.  In retrospect choosing to do the letters by hand rather than printing them out and pasting them on was a bad choice.  I decided to save ink, which was dumb on my part.  It took me twice as long and I probably killed the marker I used coloring in the letters.

Despite that, it came out pretty cute.  And it was easy.  I didn’t use a pattern, so the letters are uneven.  I didn’t sew or glue so they pieces may slide around.  I used my favorite crafting supply: staples.  I simply folded down the top 2 inches of the paper over the string and stapled.  Ta da! A banner is born!

I did staple the heart on to the string precisely to keep the other letters from bunching up, so there’s that.  (I’m patting myself on the back now.)

It may not have been my best work this week.

This was my best work:

Yum! Double Strawberry Scones! Here’s the recipe from BHG: recipe.

I, of course, altered the recipe a bit: no freeze-dried strawberries (1 full cup of fresh strawberries instead), no half-and-half (use milk), and just 1 tablespoon of dried basil.  Super easy to make, took about 25 minutes.  The dough was a little gummy, but it was well worth it!

I’ll be crafting more next week to help prepare for a bridal shower, so I’ll share some of the fun, fast crafts I do!

About mrserinanderson

I wear many different hats in my life: mom, daughter, friend, laundress, dog lover/walker, nanny, personal assistant, cook....I could go on, but if you're a modern housewife, you already know what I do and you know I technically don't get paid for any of it! But I'll gladly take sloppy doggy kisses, baby face pats, and the occasional bunch of flowers as payment.Erin AndersonCreate Your Badge

2 responses »

  1. I love this! It’s just like looking in the mirror! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

