RSS Feed

Barely Cooking Brisket

As you all know I’m a short cuts kind of a cook.  So when I had a brisket that was going to go bad and about 20 minutes in which to do something with it before my chaotic day took over, here’s what I came up with:

The Barely-Cooking Brisket

When I’m running short on time I always turn to my faithful slow-cooker.  It is simply the best!  I honestly think it’s my favorite kitchen tool.  Slow cooking makes things taste better with half the work.  It was thus a no-brainer to use it for my brisket.

There’s my lovely brisket, some leftover grilled onions from the day before, brown sugar, baby carrots, oregano, garlic salt, and ketchup.

Here’s a more organized list:

3lb brisket trimmed of fat

2 tbsp of oregano

2 tbsp of garlic salt

1 tbsp of brown sugar

1.5 cup of ketchup

1-2 cups of baby carrots

1-2 onions cut into large chunks

2 cups of beef broth

1 cup water

Once you’ve cut up your onion, depending on how much you like onion use one or two, put half of the chunks on the bottom of the slow-cooker and lay the brisket on top.

(You really should trim the fat off of it but since I was in a hurry I didn’t, which meant I had to flip it halfway through cooking.  Don’t be like me.)

Once that’s done, cover the brisket in ketchup (or if you have chili sauce you can use that and not have to use any of the other dry ingredients).

As you can tell I didn’t take the time to actually measure but instead squirted the ketchup from the bottle directly onto the meat! Also my flash came on in this picture.  I’m very good at this whole camera thing.

Next add you oregano and garlic salt (or if you want to be fancy, crush 4-5 cloves of garlic and mince, replace garlic salt with minced garlic and 1 tbsp of salt).

It’s starting to look kinda good! Next add brown sugar, massage ingredients into brisket and cover with remaining onions.

Throw on your baby carrots, as much or as little as you like.  Next add beef broth, if you’ve got it, or chicken broth and water.

Finally set your slow cooker and walk away!

I set mine on low for 7 hours.  This would be a great meal to make if you’re rushing off in the morning!

At long last the meat:

Yum! The boyfriend had to work late so I didn’t get to eat this like a normal meal so I can’t attest to how it turned out with the meat and gravy served over mashed potatoes or egg noodles.  I did make a brisket sandwich with some of the gravy drizzled onto the bread, though and it was delicious!

About mrserinanderson

I wear many different hats in my life: mom, daughter, friend, laundress, dog lover/walker, nanny, personal assistant, cook....I could go on, but if you're a modern housewife, you already know what I do and you know I technically don't get paid for any of it! But I'll gladly take sloppy doggy kisses, baby face pats, and the occasional bunch of flowers as payment.Erin AndersonCreate Your Badge

Leave a Reply

