RSS Feed

Improvised Chicken Parmigiana

Let’s say, just hypothetically, you decide you want baked chicken parmigiana for dinner.  You pick this because it’s an easy recipe and you have all the ingredients on hand.  Or at least you should.  And then let’s say you find out you’re missing a few key ingredients after you’ve already defrosted the chicken breasts.  What should you do?

You do what all great mothers of the world do!  You IMPROVISE!

(I think maybe I should get this word tattooed on me somewhere as it seems to be the driving motto of my life.)

Here is the recipe for baked chicken parmigiana:

2 chicken breasts

2 cups Italian bread crumbs

2 eggs

1 cup shredded mozzarella

1 jar of your favorite tomato sauce

 

From that list, here is what I had:

2 chicken breasts

2 eggs

1/2 jar of tomato sauce

 

Not quite the same!  So I improvised.

Instead of Italian bread crumbs, I had Panko bread crumbs (a Japanese variety of bread crumbs).  I wasn’t too sure about dipping the chicken in eggs before using the Panko bread crumbs, so I just rolled the slightly moist breasts in the Panko and plopped them in the pan with some hot olive oil.

Also because they weren’t Italian bread crumbs, I added some dry Italian seasoning mix in with the Panko before breading the chicken.

Then I browned each side of the breasts a bit before putting them in the dish.  (Oh! Make sure your oven is preheated to 350 degrees.)

Next, instead of having a large pool of sauce for the chicken to rest in, I just spread a little on the bottom of the dish to prevent sticking.

Then I placed the chicken in the dish and covered with the remaining sauce.

Or at least I covered as much as I could.

Now would be the time to typically sprinkle the shredded mozzarella on top of the sauce.  However, I didn’t have any mozzarella!  Or at least I didn’t have any in the traditional sense….

What I did have was Trader Joe’s low-fat mozzarella string cheese.

So I chopped it up!

It may not look perfect now, but I assure you it will melt the same as regular shredded cheese.

All that’s left to do is pop it in the oven!

Oh wait!  I decided at the last-minute to add some dried basil, to help make up for the non-Italian bread crumbs!

Bake for 25 minutes and VOILA!  A lovely dinner….that I forgot to take a picture of.

Ok….I’ll improvise again!

Here’s a picture of Connor:

We were playing with glow sticks in the dark during bath time last night.  We pretended to be insects with glowing antenna and tongues!  It was fun!  It has nothing to do with the dinner but I’m hoping you’ll be enchanted enough by the idea of a glow stick bath to ignore that.  Please?

About mrserinanderson

I wear many different hats in my life: mom, daughter, friend, laundress, dog lover/walker, nanny, personal assistant, cook....I could go on, but if you're a modern housewife, you already know what I do and you know I technically don't get paid for any of it! But I'll gladly take sloppy doggy kisses, baby face pats, and the occasional bunch of flowers as payment.Erin AndersonCreate Your Badge

Leave a Reply

