RSS Feed

World’s Easiest Cinnamon Rolls

Do you ever lay in bed at night thinking of what you would like to make for breakfast?  Do you dream of freshly made croissants and steaming piles of eggs? Do you agonize over how early you’d have to get up to make all that a reality?

No?  Ok, well it’s just me then.

I do this.  I do this nearly every weekend.  Essentially I want to wake up and have a full-time chef hard at work preparing the perfect breakfast in my kitchen (preferably one who will clean up after, too).  Since this is in no way reality, nor will it ever be, I endlessly debate the benefits of losing some precious sleep to rise early and prepare this fabulous breakfast that only the boyfriend and I will enjoy.  Connor will no doubt enjoy something recently frozen, fresh from the toaster.

Usually the desire to sleep wins out over the desire to make something fabulous early in the day.  Usually….

Last weekend as I obsessively searched Pinterest for ways to use my prepackaged crescent rolls that were rapidly approaching expiration, I had a brainstorm!

What if I could make cinnamon rolls from just a few simple items?  Would they actually taste good?  I decided to give it a shot.  It was touch and go there for a while during the actual making of the recipe, but in the end I created

THE WORLD’S EASIEST CINNAMON ROLLS

I am not being overly dramatic (ok well maybe a little overly dramatic, but totally appropriate level of excitement).

Oh mama they were tasty!

Here’s the recipe:

two cans of premade crescent rolls

1 stick of butter, melted

1/2 cup of white sugar

1/4 cup of cinnamon

(Please ignore the obvious errors in the above picture.  I don’t know why I thought two sticks of butter would be appropriate for one can of crescent rolls.  I had so much leftover butter I could have dunked each roll into it and then shortly after had a heart attack.  Also I didn’t actually measure the cinnamon, but it looked like 1/4 cup.  Feel free to add more or less.  I happen to really like strong cinnamon flavor, as in I love red hots!  So I can’t actually judge if there was too much cinnamon in the sugar mix.  Use your judgement.)

Ok, this recipe is easy peasy.

Step 1) Preheat oven to 350. Melt butter.  Unroll crescent rolls and place them on a clean work surface.

Step 2) Lay them out side by side like the above picture and pinch the edges together, making one large pastry sheet.

Step 3) Mix sugar and cinnamon into melted butter.  (do not eat!  It is delicious but use it for the cinnamon rolls first, you can have the leftovers.)

Step 4) Smear butter mixture all over the dough.  (I’m sure there’s a better word than smear: paint? coat? lovingly apply?)

Make the mixture as thick or as thin as you like.  I wanted a lot of calories in this dish so I made sure the coat was as thick as possible.

Step 5) Roll dough and slice into rounds.

Side note: I am including this awful picture so you know that I am not perfect.  Cooking is a messy business!  Things seldom go perfectly!  In fact at this point in the process I had serious doubts about the whole endeavor.  This looked terrible.  I hadn’t pinched the dough together enough.  It was getting really squished.  I was positive this whole thing was going to be a failure.  Resigned to seeing it through I continued on.

Step 6) Place rounds in a round, greased cake pan.  Slip them in the oven for 20 min.

Step 7) Pray. Then open the oven.

Sweet Lord!  They look amazing!

Step 8) Whip up a quick white icing and drizzle over top.

Stop drooling, it’s getting everywhere!

Step 9) Eat and enjoy!

About mrserinanderson

I wear many different hats in my life: mom, daughter, friend, laundress, dog lover/walker, nanny, personal assistant, cook....I could go on, but if you're a modern housewife, you already know what I do and you know I technically don't get paid for any of it! But I'll gladly take sloppy doggy kisses, baby face pats, and the occasional bunch of flowers as payment.Erin AndersonCreate Your Badge

Leave a Reply

