RSS Feed

Total Cluster…What?

Connor was home sick for the last two days, meaning my life came to a screeching halt.  Not that he was a little monster, or even in a bad mood, quite the opposite.  Connor was ecstatic to be home from school!  He was so happy to spend time with me and the dogs, just hanging out at home.  We played outside, we watched movies, we played video games, we went for a walk.  It was a very nice few days.

The only downside was that Connor wouldn’t let me out of arms reach.  So that meant I had absolutely no free time, free will, or freedom of choice.  If I started to use the computer for my own interest, Connor demanded we watch Baby Einstein.  If I turned on a program other than Sesame Street, Connor demanded Too Cute (a show about kittens and puppies).  If I started to sing while I cleaned up, Connor demanded NO SINGING!!  If I happened to use my own phone for my own personal use, Connor asked “phone pease? phone pease?” demanding the phone, after which a chase ensued if I wanted to actually get one last text off before handing it over.

So aside from being at my child’s mercy, it was relatively relaxing.

However, sending him off to school today and trying to pick up all the balls I’d let drop, I expected it to be a total clustercuss.  I had horrible calls to make!   I needed to arrange a makeup therapy session with Connor’s therapist, which usually proved exhausting given our collective busy schedules.  I needed to speak to my insurance, given that the laws in California have changed regarding autism coverage.  I expected this to be a long, drawn out, horrible battle.  I have seldom been so pleasantly surprised!  Not only was it not a battle, it was extremely easy!  My insurance company did the intelligent thing and set up teams of representatives that deal specifically with autism coverage and laws as they apply in each state.  I was flabbergasted!  You mean you have people you have organized and trained to specifically help me?!?!  WHAAAAAAAAT?

Things went on from there to get all the answers I needed from every call and email I had to return.  It’s as if the universe is conspiring to make my day go well.  I am unsure of how to feel in this situation.  All I feel is a constant sense of surprise and skepticism.  When will something go wrong…..

With that thought I’m going to stop calling people and tackle my to do list.  Surely something will go terribly wrong as I try to complete this Herculean list.  It’s inevitable….or maybe it isn’t.  Suddenly there’s a new feeling emerging to take the place of skepticism.  It’s hope.

About mrserinanderson

I wear many different hats in my life: mom, daughter, friend, laundress, dog lover/walker, nanny, personal assistant, cook....I could go on, but if you're a modern housewife, you already know what I do and you know I technically don't get paid for any of it! But I'll gladly take sloppy doggy kisses, baby face pats, and the occasional bunch of flowers as payment.Erin AndersonCreate Your Badge

One response »

  1. I can see so much of myself in this, yet I am inwardly screaming stop being so negative and enjoy it for a bit!! It is a shame that we reach a stage where we think something is wrong if things go right!! Long may it continue for you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

