RSS Feed

Slow Cooker Lasagna

This is one of my all time favorite slow cooker recipes. I remember when I first saw the words “slow cooker lasagna”, I thought that I must be in some kind of dream.  There was just no way a terribly troublesome dish like lasagna could be made in a slow cooker!  Life would simply be too good to be true.

BUT IT WAS TRUE!

The original recipe is from Williams Sonoma, which has a great online collection of recipes (the majority of which do not require you to actually have something from Williams Sonoma).  As usual, I’ve adapted this recipe to both my patience and my budget.

The very best thing about this recipe is that you don’t have to cook the noodles!  You heard me right!  No sticky, ripping noodles, that have to be laid out just so!  It’s a miracle of culinary genius!

Disclaimer: So I made this dish on Sunday and thought, you know, I should really put this on my blog.  Which meant I should take pictures.  I took exactly two pictures because I got too wrapped up in my own excitement of the dish that I forgot to take any more.  So I decided not to post the recipe, but then a couple of people asked me about it…and now I’m posting the recipe.  I’m truly a modern wonder in the blog writing world.

Here goes:

Ingredients:

This is a horrible picture for a couple reasons: 1) half the ingredients are missing and 2) you can’t identify the ingredients behind the cheese.  Awful.

Here’s the list because I am a terrible photographer:

1 lb ground beef

1 jar of tomato sauce (I like Trader Joe’s Three Cheese sauce)

12 oz of ricotta cheese

2-4 cups of shredded mozzarella (it really depends on your preference.  I put the whole bag on.)

12 dry lasagna noodles (any brand is fine)

1 tbsp dry parsley

1/2 onion chopped

1/2 cup of mushrooms chopped

1 tsp garlic salt

 

Begin by making a bolognese sauce.  In a large pan, start with the ground beef.  As it cooks and its juices are revealed, add the onions and mushrooms until soft.  Sprinkle with garlic salt.

(Here’s 2 of 2 pictures.  Fabulous)

Add the jar of sauce to the meat mixture and let simmer.

In another bowl, mix ricotta with parsley and a pinch of salt.

Once the sauce had reached a nice heat level and everything is well mixed, layer a small amount on the bottom of the slow cooker insert.

On top of this, layer the uncooked lasagna noodles so that the meat is covered.  Do not be afraid to break and fit pieces like a noddle jigsaw.  It’s going to be just fine.  Trust me.

Once the noodles are in place, spread the ricotta mixture evenly over the top of the noodles.

Now repeat: top ricotta with meat sauce then noodles then ricotta.  Do this until you run out of sauce and ricotta.  You should have about three layers, ending with noodles on the top.  Top the last layer of noodles with sauce and spread out the shredded mozzarella until all of the sauce is covered.

Fix the top of the slow cooker on tightly and cook on low for four hours.

Once it’s done it will be extremely hot so I like to let it sit with the top off for about 20 min before serving.

Eat and enjoy!

You may never want to go back to make lasagna the old fashioned way ever again!

About mrserinanderson

I wear many different hats in my life: mom, daughter, friend, laundress, dog lover/walker, nanny, personal assistant, cook....I could go on, but if you're a modern housewife, you already know what I do and you know I technically don't get paid for any of it! But I'll gladly take sloppy doggy kisses, baby face pats, and the occasional bunch of flowers as payment.Erin AndersonCreate Your Badge

8 responses »

  1. That looks really good. With this recipe, are you using a 3 quart or a 5 quart cooker? And the tomato sauce, you say you like Trader Joe’s 3 cheese. I googled it, and it’s a pasta or spaghetti sauce, not plain tomato sauce? And is that the 25 oz jar? Are the mushrooms fresh or canned?

    I apologize for the questions. I’m not a good cook unless I follow a recipe exactly lol. Thank you 🙂

    Reply
    • mrserinanderson

      Don’t apologize! I love questions! I have a 5 qt slow cooker, so if you have a 3 qt you may have to use fewer noddles per layer, but you’ll end up with more layers. The Trader Joe’s Three Cheese is a pasta sauce. You can use a regular tomato sauce (like Hunt’s) but you’d need to add some spices like oregano, garlic, etc. I recommend using a jar of pasta sauce so you can skip the spicing step. The mushrooms are fresh mushrooms, presliced. I’m sure you can use canned mushrooms just drain them before adding to the meat. I didn’t mention this in my post either but I’d recommend using yellow or white onion for the sauce as well. Red has a very distinct taste so be wary when adding it to dishes.

      If you have any more questions, don’t hesitate to ask!

      Reply
  2. Thank you so much! I have a 5 qt cooker as well, so I can follow your recipe more exactly. We don’t have Trader Joe’s here, but I love Rinaldi Three Cheese pasta sauce, but it’s a 24 oz jar. The pre-sliced mushrooms in our stores are usually 8 oz packages, if I use all of that, maybe it would make up for that 1 oz difference in the sauces since there will be mushroom “broth?” Or am I being too picky lol. I love my slow cooker, but the easier, the better. Oh, and I’ll probably throw a few pepperoni slices in on that. Thank you for the answers, that solves the question for dinner tomorrow.

    Reply
    • mrserinanderson

      I’m sure the 24 oz will be fine! If it seems to thick you can add a little water, but I think you’ll be ok. Let me know how it turns out!

      Reply
      • Hi, hey sorry it took me awhile to make this, hubby wanted something different last week. It’s just him and me, so I make one pot dishes to last the week for us both. I must say it turned out very well! It’s a keeper! Thank you 🙂

        I added a 14 oz jar of Ragu pizza sauce in addition to the 24 oz jar of Three Cheese sauce, because I love it extra saucy. Used the full 8 oz of sliced mushrooms and added a bit of pepperoni (I add that to most everything it seems lol.). Super nice blend of the cheeses and cooked to perfection. You rock!

      • mrserinanderson

        I’m so glad it worked out! Sounds like your additions were yummy!

  3. Hamilton Beach Stay or Go 6-Quart Slow Cooker

    Hi Mrserinanderson,
    Interesting Thoughts, So I am looking to expand my day to day meal recipes. I work everyday monday to friday, so I need recipes that wont take all day to prepare. I am a huge fan of the slow cooker! But it seems that I cook the same thing all the time (lasagna, chicken parmesan, swiss steak…Parmesanyfriend and I are kind of picky eaters, so I’m not looking for anything extremely outrageous. I do love to cook and would appreciate any recipes to try!
    Thank You!
    Good Job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

